Home

Losing weight

OK, we’re all visiting this site because we love food. But I for one think perhaps I’ve been loving food a little bit too much lately…like for the last ten years!

I’ve tried each and every latest faddy diet, and of course they all work if you stick to them, but after a few weeks I always seem to decide that a little bit of pleasure and an extra pound or two will probably make me just as happy as getting back into a pair of jeans.

So, “diet” has become a four-letter word for me. They’re so boring, aren’t they? What I am looking for now are some fast and easy recipe ideas for delicious, healthy lunches and dinners that will miraculously satisfy my appetite, my tastebuds and my vanity all at the same time. It must be possible to shed a few pounds while still enjoying food, no pressure or guilt attached.

Anyone?

Re: Losing weight

Anita-

You bring up a great point — diets are indeed a four letter word. I live by my motto “everything in moderation.” The second I deny myself something, I immediately start craving it. Perhaps I am week, but when I forswear sweets all can I think about is sweets until I cave in and indulge on sweets all the while swearing that tomorrow I will stand firm.

So let common sense rule. Cut out the unnecessary extras and enjoy the family meals. Look for balance. Don’t forswear recipes with cream if you love cream, just enjoy them in moderation. And remember no body ever got healthy by completely cutting carbs from their diet.

So when I want to drop a few I limit sweets to the weekend, make sure to eat in, keep the meals simple, eats lots of veg (sans butter), and have soup at least twice a week as they are filling and delicious without too many calories.

Here are some of my favorite recipes: