Kosher for Passover

One of the hardest things for many cooks to figure out is what exactly is kosher for Passover and what is considered chametz (not kosher). This is made particularly difficult because jews from different backgrounds have varied traditions. Below is an attempt to create some order. Please correct me where I have erred.

Chametz that is generally forbidden by all include foods made with flour, wheat, barley, spelt, oats, and rye which came into contact with water and ferments such as but not limited to yeast.

This includes: - Bread - Noodles - Beer - Whiskey and other malts - Cereals

Additionally Ashkenazi jews (from Eastern Europe) avoid all legumes such as:

  • Rice
  • Corn
  • Soy Beans (edamame)
  • String beans
  • Peas
  • Lentils
  • Peanuts
  • Mustard
  • Sesame seeds
  • Poppy seeds

Now to make it even more confusing some food products need rabbinical certification to be deemed kosher while others do not. The list of foods that often do not include:

  • Coffee
  • Tea leaves
  • Eggs
  • Wine (although more and more vineyards are seeking certification)
  • Baking soda
  • Fish
  • Nuts
  • Fruits and approved vegetables (see list above)
  • Sugar
  • Toothpaste

Consult your rabbi for clarification.

To expand or improve this reference page, click here.
Re: Kosher for Passover